

# The Society of Neurological Surgeons is pleased to announce the establishment of

The H. Richard Winn, MD, Prize of the Society of Neurological Surgeons.

The purpose of this international award is to encourage research in the neurosciences and to recognize outstanding, continuous commitment to research in the neurosciences by a neurological surgeon. For more details, please see: <u>http://www.societyns.org/</u>

The Society of Neurological Surgeons has established a committee composed of neurosurgeons and neuroscientists to evaluate candidates and select an annual awardee. We invite you and your colleagues to submit nominations. In order to encourage a broad solicitation, the Society would appreciate dispersing this announcement to your colleagues and faculty. Please note that the goal of *The Winn Prize* is to recognize accomplished, but active investigators and not to honor individuals whose career, however distinguished, is emeritus. Previous Grass Prize awardees are ineligible.

Nominations for the Winn Prize must be accompanied by a short summary of the nominee's significant scientific accomplishments and contributions. The letter proposing the nominee must be accompanied by three to five papers, which the nominee feels represent their most significant, and substantial research contributions. The letter of nomination should be mailed by post or sent electronically to the Chair of the Winn Prize Selection committee:

Ralph G. Dacey, Jr. MD, Henry G. and Edith R. Schwartz Professor Chairman of Neurosurgery Washington University 660 S. Euclid Ave. Box 8057 St. Louis, MO 63110-0000 daceyr@nsurg.wustl.edu

# PRESIDENT

Dennis D. Spencer, M.D. Yale University Department of Neurosurgery 333 Cedar Street, Box 208082 New Haven, CT 06520-8082 Tel: 203-785-2285 Fax: 203-785-4161 E-Mail: <u>dennis.spencer@yale.edu</u> PRESIDENT-ELECT

Edward H. Oldfield, M.D. National Health Institute 10 Center Drive Rm 5D37 Bethesda, MD 20892-1414 Tel: 301-496-5728 Fax: 301-402-0380 E-Mail: <u>eo10d@nih.gov</u>

# VICE PRESIDENT

Robert J. Dempsey, M.D. University of Wisconsin Department of Neurological Surgery 600 Highland Avenue, K4/822 Madison, WI 53792 Tel: 608-263-9585 Fax: 608-263-1728 E-Mail: <u>dempsey@neurosurg.wisc.edu</u>

### SECRETARY

Kim J. Burchiel, M.D. Oregon Health and Science University Department of Neurological Surgery 3303 SW Bond Avenue, CH8N Portland, Oregon 97239-3098 Tel: 503-494-778 Fax: 503-494-7161 E-mail: <u>burchiek@ohsu.edu</u>

# TREASURER

Arthur L. Day, M.D. Brigham & Women's Hospital Department of Neurological Surgery 75 Francis Street; PBB 3 Boston, MA 02115 Tel: 617-525-7777 Fax: 617-734-8342 E-mail: aday1@partners.org



The H. Richard Winn Prize has been established by the generous support of family, friends, colleagues, former residents and grateful patients (see <u>http://www.societyns.org/</u>).

Biography of H. Richard Winn, M.D.:

H. Richard Winn, MD, trained in Neurological Surgery at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville under John A. Jane, MD, PhD. During residency he spent a year in England at Atkinson Morley's Hospital and had the opportunity to start clinical research on the natural history of cerebral aneurysms working with Alan Richardson and pursuing long-term outcome studies initiated by Sir Wylie McKissock. Following military service with the US Army in Germany, Dr. Winn returned to Charlottesville where he pursued basic science training in cardiovascular and cerebrovascular physiology under the direction of Robert M. Berne, Professor of Physiology and began his studies on the role of adenosine and cerebral blood flow regulation. He has been continuously funded by the NIH since 1974 for this ongoing effort.

He held faculty positions in the Departments of Neurosurgery and Physiology at the University of Virginia, rising to full Professor and Vice Chairman of Neurological Surgery until 1983 when he moved to University of Washington as the Professor and Chairman of the Department of Neurological Surgery with joint Professorship in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics. In 2003, after spending several months as a Visiting Professor in the Department of Surgery (Neurosurgery) at Tribhuvan University Teaching Hospital in Kathmandu, Nepal, he moved to Mount Sinai Medical School where he was appointed as a tenured Professor in the Departments of Neurosurgery and Neuroscience.

# PRESIDENT

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Dennis D. Spencer, M.D. Yale University Department of Neurosurgery 333 Cedar Street, Box 208082 New Haven, CT 06520-8082 Tel: 203-785-2285 Fax: 203-785-4161 E-Mail: <u>dennis.spencer@yale.edu</u> Edward H. Oldfield, M.D. National Health Institute 10 Center Drive Rm 5D37 Bethesda, MD 20892-1414 Tel: 301-496-5728 Fax: 301-402-0380 E-Mail: <u>eo10d@nih.gov</u> VICE PRESIDENT

Robert J. Dempsey, M.D. University of Wisconsin Department of Neurological Surgery 600 Highland Avenue, K4/822 Madison, WI 53792 Tel: 608-263-9585 Fax: 608-263-1728 E-Mail: <u>dempsey@neurosurg.wisc.edu</u>

### SECRETARY

Kim J. Burchiel, M.D. Oregon Health and Science University Department of Neurological Surgery 3303 SW Bond Avenue, CH8N Portland, Oregon 97239-3098 Tel: 503-494-7761 Fax: 503-494-7161 E-mail: <u>burchiek@ohsu.edu</u>

# TREASURER

Arthur L. Day, M.D. Brigham & Women's Hospital Department of Neurological Surgery 75 Francis Street; PBB 3 Boston, MA 02115 Tel: 617-525-7777 Fax: 617-734-8342 E-mail: aday1@partners.org



http://www.societyns.org

His clinical interests are centered on cerebrovascular disease, trauma and oncology while simultaneously continuing to pursue basic investigations in the laboratory. He was awarded a Jacob Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award from the NIH. Other honors include being selected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1992) "for studies in cerebral metabolism and for pioneering investigations defining the physiologic regulation of brain blood flow," the Wakeman Award for Research in the Neurosciences (1990), the Sir Wylie McKissock Neuroscience Prize (1992) from St. George's Medical School, London and the Grass Foundation Award (1999) from the Society of Neurological Surgery "for excellence in research contributions in the areas of science and academic neurosurgery." He also received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Haverford School (2000) and the Distinguished Service Award from the Society of Neurological Surgeons (2005).

(From: http://www.societyns.org/)

PRESIDENT

PRESIDENT-ELECT

National Health Institute 10 Center Drive Rm 5D37

Tel: 301-496-5728 Fax: 301-402-0380

E-Mail: eo10d@nih.gov

Bethesda, MD 20892-1414

Dennis D. Spencer, M.D. Yale University Department of Neurosurgery 333 Cedar Street, Box 208082 New Haven, CT 06520-8082 Tel: 203-785-2285 Fax: 203-785-4161 E-Mail: dennis.spencer@yale.edu

VICE PRESIDENT Edward H. Oldfield, M.D.

Robert J. Dempsey, M.D. University of Wisconsin Department of Neurological Surgery 600 Highland Avenue, K4/822 Madison, WI 53792 Tel: 608-263-9585 Fax: 608-263-1728 E-Mail: <u>dempsey@neurosurg.wisc.edu</u>

### SECRETARY

Kim J. Burchiel, M.D. Oregon Health and Science University Department of Neurological Surgery 3303 SW Bond Avenue, CH8N Portland, Oregon 97239-3098 Tel: 503-494-7978 Fax: 503-494-7161 E-mail: <u>burchiek@ohsu.edu</u>

# TREASURER

Arthur L. Day, M.D. Brigham & Women's Hospital Department of Neurological Surgery 75 Francis Street; PBB 3 Boston, MA 02115 Tel: 617-525-7777 Fax: 617-734-8342 E-mail: aday1@partners.org